Saturday, December 20, 2008

Review with Booty Fresh & Gear Fresh

Everybody needs a fresh booty, or rather booties, and wetsuit after a long surf session. Board Riders Review met up with the creators of Booty Fresh and Gear Fresh at the Sacred Craft Show to find out about this unique product.

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Review with Surf Tours Nicaragua

Surf Tours Nicaragua is a unique tour company that takes you to the North Coast to pristine surf spots. Board Riders Review met up with Nic during his brief stay in the States to find out what his surf tour company is all about.

Sunday, November 23, 2008

Review of 9'4" Bing Noserider-2 Surfboard

BRR met up with Gio of Italy on a 20 day holiday, surfing his 9'4" Bing Noserider 2 Surfboard at San Onofre. He tells us a little bit about what he likes about it.

Testing out Power Balance for Ourselves

We tested out Power Balance to see if it really does create more balance while surfing. Check out this video to see what we found out.

Review with Indo Board

We met up with the Chip, VP of IndoBoards to check out what IndoBoards are all about. They seem like a good product to improve balance and posture and great for fitness training. Whether they improve your surfing is still to be seen. But it makes sense that it probably does. If you are an IndoBoard user and you have a testimonial on whether or not they improve your boarding, let Board Riders Review know.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Review with Line-At-Sano

Line-At-Sano is a service for those of us surfers who go to SanO. Board Riders Review happened to catch up with them in the line up. Check out this video on this seasonal service.

Monday, November 17, 2008

Review of Versasurf Traction - Part 2

Jared, member of the Hawaiian Surf Club, talks to Board Riders Review about Versasurf Traction. Check out this video and see what he has to say about his waxless surfboard.

Testing out Versasurf Traction for Ourselves

We got a chance to test out the Versasurf Traction for ourselves to see if sticking is believing. Not only was the traction there when we needed it, it also didn't weigh down the board.

Saturday, November 15, 2008

Review of Ear Saver

Tim Bessell shares his favorite ear saving product, Ear Saver, with Board Riders Review. For swimmers ear, surfers ear, or water on the brain (just kidding), Tim says Ear Saver is the product to use.


Review with Bing Surfboards Shaper Matt Calvani

Board Riders Review caught up with Bing shaper Matt Calvani at San Onofre. Watch this video as he talks about some of his surfboards and his thoughts on the industry and how he helps customers select the board for their skill level.


Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Review of 9'3" Hobie Surfboard

Checks out this review of a 9'3" Hobie Longboard shaped by Terry Martin as surfer Michelle tells what she likes about it and her Donald Takayama Noserider Fin and surfing in general. She even shows us how she walks to the nose.

Sunday, November 2, 2008

Review of Ellis Snowboards

Board Riders Review got a quick look at Ellis Snowboards at Hot Dawgs and Handrails. Looking forward to a demo review of their boards. Check out this video to see what they've got to offer.

Review of Flow Snowboards

Board Riders Review caught up with Flow Snowboards at Hot Dawgs and Handrails at Bear Mountain. We only got a shot of their bindings. Maybe we'll get a chance to get some demos in on their snowboards this season.

Review of B4BC

Board Riders Review talks with Blair of Boarding 4 Breast Cancer to find out what their angle is and how they got started. Check out this video. It could save your life!

Saturday, November 1, 2008

Review of Go211

Board Riders Review sits with Chris Cleary, founder of Go211 at the US Open Surf Contest in Huntington Beach. Chris talks about his vision for his action sports social site.

Review of Versasurf Traction

Why wax your surfboard when there's Versasurf? Board Riders Review got the shop tour of Versasurf and how they work their magic to create a waxless traction surfboard. Pro-surfers Sunny Garcia and Joe Aaron are some of their top riders.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Review of Power Balance

This is something you've got to see! Check out this trippy technology that Power Balance has come up with to help pro surfers like Andy Irons & Bruce Irons stay "glued to their board". Pro Longboarder, Kaitlin Maguire and shredder Max Jesse take the Power Balance test.

Review of Kurtis Surf Goggles

Board Riders Review checks out Kurtis Surf Goggles at the ASR show in San Diego. Team Kurtis riders, Kaiea Bosgra and Pipeline charger, Cody Graham talk up the product with what they like about the goggles.

Saturday, October 25, 2008

Review of Sector 9 Skateboard

Pablo Smith of Soul Grind Skateboard Shop gives Board Riders Review of a Sector 9 Skateboard. Check out the correlation between surfing and skateboarding.

video

Visit to Soul Grind Skateboard Shop

Come with us as Board Riders Review visits Pablo Smith at his Soul Grind Skate Shop in Pacific Beach. Pablo Smith, father of Pro Longboarder, Jen Smith, carries hundreds of skate boards, decks, trucks, and parts for all of your skateboarding needs.

Monday, September 8, 2008

Review of Tim Bessell Surfboards

Surfboard shaper Tim Bessell schools Board Riders Review on his shaping philosophy and quiver. Check out this video to get the best info from Tim himself.

Review of Beyond Coastal Sunscreen

Looking for a sunscreen with antioxidants and anti-aging properties? Beyond Coastal sunscreens may just be the product for you. Board Riders Review gets the 411 from founder of Beyond Coastal, Shawn Biega.

Review of Surfrider Foundation

Be earth conscious and check out this video about the Surfrider Foundation with Sandy Duncan of the Seal Beach Huntington Beach chapter.


Monday, September 1, 2008

Review of Life Rolls On Foundation

Watch this video as Board Riders Review gets the 411 on Life Rolls On Foundation. How Jesse Billauer started this amazing foundation to help people with spinal cord injuries get "back on their feet".


Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Review of Matuse Wetsuits

Want to stay warm in the water? More warmth means longer sessions. Watch this Board Riders Review of Matuse Wetsuits and see for yourself. Lots of great wetsuit info.

Review of 10' 0" Colin McPhillips Surfboard - Part 3

In part 1 & 2, Board Riders Review checked out purchased a used Colin McPhillips surfboard and took it in for repair. Now, check out how it rode. Used surfboards can be great deals!



Saturday, August 16, 2008

Review of the Takayama Beach Break Surfboard

Pro Longboarder, Kaitlin Maguire reviews her favorite surfboard, her Takayama Beach Break. She gives Board Riders Review (www.BoardRidersReview.com) an awesome explanation to why this board ranks tops in her quiver.

Review of an 8' 0" McTavish Girl Carver Surfboard

Check out this review provided to Board Riders Review of an 8' 0" McTavish Girls Carver surfboard by Shannon of SunDiego - Belmont.


Review of the H2O-Audio Experience

Ever want to listen to tunes while surfing, wakeboarding, hot-tubbing? Then check out this product info from H2O-Audio provided to Board Riders Review (www.BoardRidersReview)

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Review of Plus One Surfboards - Surfboard Shapes 101

Check out this video where Plus One shaper, Joe, schools us on what the difference in surfboard shapes translate to in terms of performance. If you are new to surfing, you gotta watch this Board Riders Review!


Tuesday, August 12, 2008

Review of an 8' 6" Tufflite and a RipCurl Wettie Bucket

Monique gives a great impromptu review of her pop-out tufflite surfboard and her RipCurl Wettie Bucket. With a Shaka rating of 3.5 Shakas, the wettie bucket has some definite pros and a few cons. Check it out!

Thursday, August 7, 2008

Review of a Portable Surf Rack - Hawaiian Style

Ever want a simple way to keep your surfboard off the sand when you're not in the surf? Watch this quick video with David of the Hawaiian Surf Club of San Onofre as he shows you a cool way to give your surfboard a lift.

Review of a Used Colin McPhilips 10' 0" - Part 2

Should you risk buying a used board? In Part 2, we check out how the repairs went on this used 10' 0" Colin McPhilips Noserider, previously buckled.


Sunday, June 8, 2008

Enter to Win Free Board Stuff

Each month you have a chance to win free board stuff! All you gotta do is sign up to receiver the Board Riders Review's online newsletter and you are entered to win!*

If you have already entered, Congrats! Let's see how lucky you are next month! Only one entry necessary. As long as you keep receiving the BRR newsletter, you are in the running to win. Only one winner is selected each month. And you can only win once in a four month period.

Contest valid only where allowed.

Monday, May 19, 2008

Stewart Hydrohull 9'0"

Really fun versatile board. Paddled better and easier than the Magic. Known as Stewart's best-selling all-around board. For me, it didn't pump as good as the Magic. I wasn't able to throw it around like the Magic. But it felt stable going down the line and had good glide. It's a great board for average to intermediate riders to look at. Good board for San Onofre and faster breaks.

Ratings: 4 out of 5 shakas

Walden Magic Model 9'0"

Conditions: 2-3 ft.

Rider Info: Average skill, 185 lbs. 5'9", 46 yr old male

About the Ride: It was a fun board to ride. It suited my style. I had to work harder than the 9'6" and up to catch waves. Once I caught one, it responded really well. It turned really good. Lots of fun! I was able to pump it from my stand up position. It was better suited for my riding style. But on a really small day, you're gonna want a bigger board. It floated okay. Pushed a little water but still felt good and paddled well.

Ratings: For bigger and faster conditions, I'd give it 4-1/2 shakas out of 5. For smaller, slower conditions, it is still fun but the bigger boards are gonna beat you every time.

Infinity Noserider 9' 6" Polyboard

Conditions: 3-4 ft., slightly choppy, windy conditions, somewhat mushy waves

Board Dimensions: 3 - 3/8" thick, 19" nose, 14" tail, 23" wide, cluster fins (sides 6" x 4"; center 6" x 3-5/8" slight rake)

Rider Info: Average Skill, 185 lbs., 5' 9", 46 yr old male

About the Ride: Paddled good. I was able to get most catchable waves with ease. Once I figured out my foot positions on it, I was able to turn it wherever I wanted. Once I found the sweet spot, I was able to move up and down the wave and it seemed to a have good glide. I was able to hang 5, but not 10. For my first noserider, this one rode pretty good. I couldn't pump like the Walden Magic Model 9'0" or the 9'0" Stewart Hydrohull. I had to slow way down. Turning was a lot slower. But once I got it going down the line, it was great. Slower to turn from the center of the board. But once I started turning it from the tail, it turned great - very predictable.

I was able to knee paddle it pretty easy. Floated really good. Overall it was a fun board to ride. It took about an hour to get used to it. And to get full use out of it, you would have to walk up and down the board. I was able to pump from the center of the board and get up on the nose with a little more confidence, which made it a lot more fun. It makes for a good versatile board for San Onofre and different size conditions.

Rating: 4 Shakas out of 5